Happy Mother’s Day! Famous Mothers in Art

Madonna and Child

I don’t actually know that much about the fine arts so I’m not going to attempt to interpret this image for you or anything.  Madonna and Child representations date back to the early church in Rome, but the icon by the Eastern Orthodox Church is probably one of the most famous early representations. People have been trying to nail down that complex mother-child relationship for ages.

Mrs. Bennett

This woman inspired the opening line of Pride and Prejudice: “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.” A lot of times I think we look at Mrs. Bennett as what a mother should not be, but I think in her day and age, she was just looking out for what she thought would be best for her daughters: a single man in possession of a good fortune.  My favorite Pride and Prejudice quote is in the most recent film adaptation. Lydia has run away, and Mrs. Bennett moans, “Lydia must know what this is doing to my nerves.” It’s just something I could see my mom saying about me.

 

Mrs. March

Mrs. March is perhaps my favorite literary mother of all time.  Her transcendental philosophies are a little way off, but I love that she teaches her daughters about true feminism and morality. Based on the real-life Mrs. Alcott, she reminds me a lot of my own mom, and she’s the type of mom I would like to be someday. Minus the corset references.

 

Mrs. Weasley

This woman is the matriarch of the red-headed, gangly Weasley family in the Harry Potter series. Sometimes controlling (like Mrs. Bennett), but always concerned about the safety of her family. She also reminds me of my mom.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQlImg2bm28

Mama Said – The Shirelles

 

My Mom

All of the moms in art don’t hold a candle to my mom. She’s the one who always told me it takes pain to be beautiful (context being my sisters using me as their personal mannequin for years) and that someday I might want to know how to play the piano (to which my response was when am I ever going to want to play the piano? Well, now I know). She is up front and honest (if you ever wonder where I get it from), so she’ll let me know when I’m not doing my best or doing something I shouldn’t be doing. 

My mom taught me kindergarten through highschool (along with my other seven siblings), so you don’t need me tell you about her patience and dedication or how hard she works.

Our society doesn’t think very highly of women who choose to be mothers right now, and when society thinks something, it starts showing up in our popular art. FortyOne20 Ministries challenges the “popular” view of motherhood, and will continue to challenge it in our articles and the art we produce, because moms are so incredibly valuable and irreplaceable. So to moms everywhere, from the bottoms of our hearts at FortyOne20 Ministries, thank you for all you do.

One Comment to “Happy Mother’s Day! Famous Mothers in Art”

  1. I’m thinking Meres looks a bit like you. Very nice post. They are all my favorite moms. Mrs. Bennet for being ridiculous, and Mrs. Weasely for being such a “mom”.

Get in on the dialogue!

