JEHOVAH

The past month has been a silent month for me. This blog has been silent, my Facebook account has been silent, I’ve been silent at church, and I’ve been silent at work. It has been incredibly liberating. I haven’t had the strain of article deadlines, haven’t had to deliberate whether or  not a status is productive, haven’t immersed myself in busy-ness that I’d falsely convinced myself was for God, haven’t striven for the spotlight at work. I have kind of just been … existing.
At first, scaling back was a real struggle. I wanted to be doing. As I settled down, thought, I began to realize how necessary this time was. Just my Maker and me.

The verse that I have been meditating on during this time is, “Be still and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10). Have you ever really thought about that?

God is.

I love this definition: “God can be defined only by being, pure and simple … By concrete being, by absolute being, the ocean of all substantial being, independent of any cause, incapable of change, exceeding all duration, because He is infinite” (Catholic Encyclopedia).
JEHOVAH is God’s highest and holiest name, and it simply means, “I Am.” Often, we attach other titles to it. Titles like Jireh (“Provider”), Rapha (“Healer”), Rohi (“Shepherd”), Elohim (“Mighty One”), and Sabaoth (“Hosts”). In adding these things, important though they may be, we lose sight of the fact that before He is any of these things, God is just is.

A few years ago, I was reading through Ezekiel in my personal devotions and noted 43 variants of the following phrase: “Then they shall know that I am the LORD [JEHOVAH].” It’s a 48 chapter book. In Isaiah chapters 43-45 the name JEHOVAH appears 27 times. I think it must be important.

Think About It:

“You are My witnesses, says the LORD, and My servant whom I have chosen, that you may know and believe Me, and understand that I am He. Before Me there was no God formed, nor shall there be after Me. I, even I, am the LORD, and beside me there is no savior” (Isaiah 43:10-11 NKJV).

2 Comments to “JEHOVAH”

  1. Such a wise women in the Lord! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Get in on the dialogue!

